User experience is a key part of using any app, but it can be especially important for communication apps that you regularly use. With the recent rise in the use of Zoom for meetings and calls in both business and personal life, its specific issues with regards to user experience are important to be aware of. One issue that you can run into easily, and can catch you out multiple times with potentially serious consequences, is that Zoom asks for confirmation when you click the button to leave a meeting.
The problem with asking for confirmation when leaving a voice or video call, is that users can assume that they have left when they click the leave button, which they haven’t until they click the confirmation. By making it a two-step process to leave a call, people can easily end up being heard or seen after believing they have left a call, which can lead to embarrassing and unprofessional results. There have been multiple cases in the news around the world where people have been caught out by leaving their microphone or webcam broadcasting when saying or doing something that they shouldn’t have.
There is a way to disable the confirmation check upon leaving a meeting, however, which allows you to actually leave Zoom calls after clicking the leave button. To do so you need to go into Zoom’s settings by clicking on your user icon in the top-right corner, then clicking “Settings”.
Once in the settings, untick the checkbox labelled “Ask me to confirm when I leave a meeting”, which can be found halfway down the default “General” tab. Disabling this setting does increase the chance that you can accidentally disconnect from a meeting, but it also protects you from thinking that you’ve left a call when you haven’t.
This post was written by Mel Hawthorne and was first posted to Technipages
Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.