Lagos, Nigeria
info@ezefidelity.com

Twitch.tv: How to Restrict Chat to Followers-Only Mode – Technipages


Twitch chat is a key part of building a community on Twitch, it allows interactions between yourself and your viewers as well as between your viewers. This level of interaction is a key part of the success of many channels, as it helps to make people feel more involved. In some cases, though Twitch chat can be less fun.

For example, if you’ve got a large viewer base it can be really hard for moderators to keep up with chat and make sure that everyone is following the rules, even with the help of some of the automated tools. This effect can be exacerbated during a “Raid” where another streamer sends their viewers to you. Raids can sometimes also result in much higher levels of comments that need to be deleted by moderators, making things even more difficult for them.

One way you can reduce this issue is to enable “Followers-only mode” in your chat. This setting prevents users that have not been following your for the configured time from being able to send messages in the chat. Overall, this has the effect of reducing the number of people sending messages and therefore the overall number of messages, especially during a raid. It also tends to increase the percentage of long-term fans chatting and reduce the number of trolls, as they generally won’t stick around long enough to bother you.

To enable followers-only mode you need to go into the creator dashboard. To open the dashboard, click on your profile picture in the top-right corner, then click on “Creator Dashboard”.

Click on your profile picture, then “Creator Dashboard”.

Once in the creator dashboard, expand the “Preferences” category in the left column, then click on “Moderation”. Scroll down to the bottom of the moderation preferences, then click on the dropdown box that is third from the bottom, labelled “Followers-only mode”. You can configure it so that users have to follow you for ten minutes, thirty minutes, one hour, one day, one week, one month, or three months. You can also choose to allow any user that has followed your account, or to disable the feature entirely, allowing anyone to send messages in the chat.

You can require users to follow you for between ten minutes and three months before they can send messages in the chat.



This post was written by Mel Hawthorne and was first posted to Technipages



Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.


Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: