While Twitch is a website that many people enjoy, it isn’t necessarily everyone’s cup of tea. if you’ve created an account and no longer want to use the service, you could just forget about it and never sign in again. Alternatively, you may want to disable or delete your account as a more permanent solution.
In reality, there isn’t much difference between simply abandoning your account and disabling it. If you disable your account, you can still log back in as normal, and reactivate your account with two clicks whenever you do so. The only difference is that it automatically cancels any subscription renewals, potentially saving you some money. In the case of either abandoning your account or deactivating it, your account will be automatically recycled after a year of inactivity, and your username will be made available again.
Tip: To prevent your account from being recycled, sign in once a year to keep your account marked as active.
If you choose to delete your account completely, your account will be immediately and permanently deleted, and your personal details will be deleted from Twitch’s servers within ninety days. If an account is deleted it takes a minimum of six months for that username to be recycled and made available again for new users.
How to disable your account
If you’re planning to simply abandon your account, there’s nothing you need to do, just don’t sign in again. To disable your account, you need to go to your account settings. To do so, click on your profile picture in the top-right corner, then click “Settings”.
Once you’re in the settings, scroll to the bottom of the default “Profile” tab and click the “Disable Account” link.
Double-check that the account name in the “Account to disable” box is correct, then enter a reason why you’re leaving, if you want to. Once you’re ready, click “Disable Account”. You’ll be asked to verify your password, then your account will be disabled.
Annoyingly, there are no links in the settings to delete your Twitch account, but if you browse to https://www.twitch.tv/user/delete-account you can access the form to delete your account. The process is identical to disabling your account, however, you will not be able to reclaim a deleted account.
This post was written by Mel Hawthorne and was first posted to Technipages
Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.