Lagos, Nigeria
info@ezefidelity.com

How to Delete Facebook Group or Archive it.

How to Delete Facebook Group or Archive it post thumbnail

Facebook group is a nice feature that allows you to gather your friends and family together and talk about things without the conversation showing up in your profile or messenger. However, there are times when a group is no longer needed because it as serves its purpose. At such times, it is best to either delete or archive the Facebook group.

But what is the difference between deleting a Facebook group and archiving it. Here are the main differences.

Difference Between Deleting and Archiving a Facebook Group

Delete Archive
Facebook group that is deleted cannot be retrieved. Archived Facebook group can be retrieved along with all previous discussion in it.
Only the person that created a Facebook Group can delete it. Any admin of a Facebook Group can archive the group and unarchive it.
Member of the Facebook Group do not get notified when the group is deleted. Members are notified when a Group they are member to get archived.
  Members will still be able to see previous posts in the group but will not be able to make new ones or respond and react to the previous posts.
  New Facebook users will not be able to join a group that have been archived, even if they have the group link.

Now that you have known the difference between deleting and archiving a Facebook Group, and you have decided which you should go for, I will now show you how to delete or archive the group.

How to Archive Facebook Group on a Computer

Log into your Facebook account and navigate to the group page. Alternatively, you can use the Group link. Facebook group link looks like https://web.facebook.com/groups/2363066000664622/
Replace the strings of numbers above with the ID number of your group.

Once the group page opens, click on the button, and then the Archive Group option in the menu that will show.

Once you click the Archive Group option, a pop-up will show asking to confirm that you want to archive the group. Click on the Confirm button and that is all.

Unarchive Facebook Group on a Computer

Log into your Facebook account and navigate to the group page.

Click on the Unarchive Group button

A pop-up will show asking you to confirm that you want to unarchive the group. Click on the Confirm button

.

How to Archive Facebook Group on the Facebook Mobile App.

Open the Facebook mobile app and navigate to the Group you want to archive. You can use search to locate the group or you can tap on the navigation drawer icon then select Groups.

Once you have opened the Group you want to archive, tap on the Admin icon and then tap on Group Settings.

Scroll down the Settings and tap on Archive Group.

You will be asked to give a reason why you want to archive the group, giving a reason is optional. Tap Continue and then Archive.

Unarchive Facebook Group on the Facebook Mobile App

To unarchive a group, follow the instruction above. When you get to step 4, you will see Unarchive Group button, tap on it.

How to Delete Facebook Group

Deleting a Facebook Group is quite stressful, because unlike Archive, there is no delete button that you can click on and then the group will be deleted.

Rather, you need to first remove all them members in the group, and then you will leave the group. Once there is no member in a group Facebook will automatically delete the group. Note though, as an admin you cannot remove the person who created the Facebook Group from the group, hence you cannot delete a Facebook Group.

Do the following to start the group members removal process.

On a Computer

Log into your Facebook account and navigate to the group page. Alternatively, you can use the Group link. Facebook group link looks like https://web.facebook.com/groups/2363066000664622/
Replace the strings of numbers above with the ID number of your group.

Once the group page opens, click on the Members button, underneath the Group name.

Next hover your mouse on each member’s name and click on the more icon , and then the Remove member option.

Click on the Confirm button in the next pop-up.

Repeat step 3 and 4 again, and again until you remove all the members in the group.

Finally, hover the mouse on your name, click on the more button, and click on the Leave group option.

Click Confirm in the confirmation box to leave and delete the Facebook group.

How to Delete Facebook Group on the Facebook Mobile App

Open the Facebook mobile app and navigate to the Group you want to archive. You can use search to locate the group or you can tap on the navigation drawer icon then select Groups.

Once you have opened the Group you want to archive, tap on the Admin icon and then tap on Members.

Next tap on the more icon  on each member’s name and tap on Remove Member. Do this for all the group members except your own.

When you are through removing all the members, go back to the group page and tap on the Admin icon , then tap the Leave Group option.

In the pop-up you will be shown, tap the Leave and Delete button.

Why my Computer Screenshot of Facebook is Different from Yours

Facebook is rolling out a new design of Facebook. I am using the new appearance that is why it seem my Facebook screenshot is different from yours.

I will be creating a tutorial on how to switch to the new Facebook appearance in a moment. So stay turned.



Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.


Tags:

%d bloggers like this: