Lagos, Nigeria
info@ezefidelity.com

Facebook: Permanently Delete Messages From Both Sides – Technipages


If you regret sending a message to someone via Facebook Messenger, don’t panic. You can still do something about it.

Maybe you sent the message to the wrong person. Or maybe you realized you might have been too harsh on that person. Maybe you’re afraid that person might forward your message to one of their contacts. You can fix all that if you act fast.

Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both Sides

  1. On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
  2. Then select Remove.facebook remove message
  3. Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.facebook unsend message
  4. Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.facebook message unsend confirmation
  5. If the message was successfully deleted, you should see a confirmation note saying ‘You unsent a message‘.

facebook you unsent a message

On the other hand, the recipient will also get a note informing them you deleted that message. Unfortunately, there’s no way to hide that note. If you delete a message, the recipient will know you did that.

facebook user unsent a message

You can always delete the ‘You unsent a message’ note from your Messenger app. However, this does not mean the note will disappear from the recipient’s chat history. You can only remove the note from your chat history. Other chat members will still be able to see it.

⇒ Note: Facebook previously had an option called ‘Remove for Everyone’. The option is no longer available. But you can use the Unsend option to do the same thing.

THE Number One Rule

The Number One Rule is not to send messages that you might regret sending later. Don’t send messages that could land you into trouble. Keep in mind that even if you manage to use the Unsend option, the recipient may have already taken a screenshot of the chat history.

Many Facebook users welcomed the option to unsend messages. But the option is only available 6 months after you sent the messages. Facebook users cannot unsend messages that are older than 6 months. In this case, the only way to delete the respective messages is to actually ask the recipient to do so.



This post was written by Madalina Dinita and was first posted to Technipages



Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.


Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: