No matter the reason you might have for not wanting to keeps some of your Facebook posts, Facebook offers you a tool that will enable you to either archive or delete all your unwanted posts in bulk, rather than doing it one after the other.
This Facebook tool is known as Manage Activity. It can be found on your Activity Log page.
Features of Manage Activity
The main purpose of the Manage Activity tool is to help users easily sort out posts that they want to get rid of in Facebook.
With the Facebook Manage Activity tool, you can sort posts by type, date, posted by you or others and much more. When you see the posts, you no longer want on Facebook, you just need to start checking them, and when you are done, you tap on either the Delete or Archive button, to remove it all from Facebook at once.
The Archive Option
Like I earlier mentioned. The Facebook Manage Activity tool gives you 2 options when you decide to take an action against a post. The first option is the Archive option.
This option lets you hide the post from other Facebook users apart from yourself. Meaning that you will be the only one that will be able to see the post after you have Archived it. Hence, using the Archive option of the Manage Activity tool does not remove the posts from Facebook permanently.
Posts Archived, can also be unarchived. When they are unarchived, the original audience that was allowed to see the post are the ones that will still be able to see the posts. For example, if you archived a post that you shared to your friends only, unarchiving the post will not make it to be seen by the public. Only your friends will still be the ones that will be able to see the post.
Deleting posts you have Archived is also possible. You do not need to unarchive it first before you can delete them. Though that is also possible.
The Delete Option
Posts you decide to delete using the Manage Activity tool is moved to the trash section. This means that, you will not be able to see the post on your profile, neither will other Facebook users.
When in Trash, Facebook will keep it there for 30 days before permanently removing the post from the Facebook database.
Facebook is keeping the post you deleted from the Manage Activity in Trash for 30 days because they want you to be able to restore the post if you discover that you perform the action unintentionally.
However, if you do not want to keep the post in Trash for 1 month, but want it gone from Facebook immediately, then you will need to visit the Trash tab in the Facebook Manage Activity tool and delete it from there. You can still also permanently delete posts from Trash in bulk.
Manage Activity is not Accessible from All Device
As of now, the Manage Activity tool can only be access by those using the Facebook mobile app for Android or iOS and also the Facebook Lite mobile app.
The Manage Activity tool is not yet available to Facebook desktop, and Facebook mobile web browser users.
Using the Manage Activity Tool on Android, iOS, and Facebook Lite App
Using it to Archive or Delete Posts in Bulk
Open the Manage Activity tool. You do this by:
Navigating to your Profile page, then tap on the More icon below your profile picture, and tap on Activity Log. Next tap on the Manage Activity tab above.
For Newer version of the Android and iOS Facebook app, there is a Manage Posts option, after you tap on the More icon. Use the Manage Posts option to go straight to the Manage Activity tool.
When in the Manage Activity tool page, use the Filter button to easily find the posts you want to Archive or Delete.
Once you have found the post, tap on the Checkbox next to the post, to select. Do that for all the content you want to Archive or Delete.
When you are through selecting the content, then tap on either the Archive or Delete icon at the button of the screen.
How to Unarchive Posts or Move Archived Posts to Trash
In the Facebook Manage Activity tool page, there is an Archive tab, beside the Filter tab. Tap on the Archive tab.
Alternatively, from the Activity Log, you can tap on the Archive tab above beside the Manage Activity tab.
When in the Archive page, select the content you want to take actions on. Then tap Restore and then Restore in the confirmation box to unarchive the post.
If it is delete you want to delete the post, then on the Trash button below and then Move to Trash to confirm.
Restoring Deleted Posts or Permanently Deleting Them Immediately
As I have earlier mentioned, you have a 30 days grace period before your deleted posts is automatically removed from Facebook database permanently. If before the 30 days grace period elapse, you decide to restore or delete post immediately, do the following.
In the Facebook Manage Activity tool page, there is a Trash tab beside the Filter tab. Tap on the Trash tab.
Alternatively, from the Activity Log, you can tap on the Trash tab above beside the Manage Activity tab.
When in the Trash page, select the content you want to take actions on. Then tap Restore at the bottom, and then Restore in the confirmation box to undelete the post.
You can also move the post from Trash to Archive by tapping on the Archive button below, if you do not want to restore the post to the public yet.
If it is delete you want to delete the post, then tap on the Delete icon , and then Delete to confirm.
Below, I have embedded a video guide from Facebook that explains how to access and how to use the Facebook Manage Activity tool which is for bulk deletion or archiving of Facebook contents you have shared.
Do you find this article helpful? Your Friend might too. So, please Share it with them using the Share button above.
Will you like to get notified when I post new updates? Then Follow me on any of my social media handles: Google News, Telegram, WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest.
You can also drop your email address below if you wish to be notified by mail.